The new Social Democrats Parliamentary Party met for the first time this morning in Dublin in advance of the Dáil resuming next week.

The 6 newly elected deputies held a press conference at the gates of Leinster House where party co-leaders Róisín Shortall and Catherine Murphy welcomed the party’s 4 first time TDs to the Dáil.

The 6 TDs are:
Róisín Shortall – Dublin North West
Catherine Murphy – Kildare North
Holly Cairns – Cork South West
Cian O’Callaghan – Dublin Bay North
Gary Gannon – Dublin Central
Jennifer Whitmore – Wicklow

Róisín Shortall TD said:

“We are over the moon to be standing here today flanked by 4 new TDs who are eager to hit the ground running and deliver on the mandate given to us by the electorate. We are also extremely proud of all 20 Social Democrats candidates who stood for election across the country who have built a wider base for the future of our party.”

Catherine Murphy TD said:

“I think it’s fair to say that anyone who had questions about our party can look now and see a formula for success. We intend to build from here and continue growing the Social Democrats as a force in Irish Politics.”

[ENDS] 12th Feb 2020

Back to all Posts